Board Members

Darrell Harris, Chairman

Darrell Harris


County Commissioner Darrell Harris and Chairman of the Hendry LaBelle Recreation Board. Commissioner Harris has been a member of the Hendry-LaBelle Recreation Board since 1997.

Bobbie Spratt, City Commissioner

Bobbie Spratt

City Commissioner

Bobbie Spratt has served on the Swamp Cabbage Committee, as a Chamber Director and has volunteered for various other community events. She is a veteran educator of 44 years in Florida Public Schools, living in LaBelle and working in Hendry County Schools since 1973. After getting married in June 1974, she and her husband moved to Clermont for 6 months but both missed LaBelle, so they moved back in December of ’74, never to leave again.

Mitchell Wills, County Commissioner

Mitchell Wills

County Commissioner

Mitchell was born an raised in Hendry County. He graduated from LaBelle High School. Mitch began his career with the County over 20 years ago. In 2016, he gained a seat as Commissioner for District 3. County Commissioner Mitchell Wills has been a member of the Hendry-LaBelle Recreation Board for many years.

Daniel Akin, City Commissioner

Daniel Akin

City Commissioner

Commissioner Akin, a lifelong resident of LaBelle, was appointed City Commission as Tax Assessor Commissioner in 2010. He has served as the City representative on the Southwest Florida Regional Planning Council and the LaBelle Downtown Revitalization Corporation. Daniel was appointed Vice-Mayor by his fellow Commissioners in 2012 and has served on the Hendry-LaBelle Recreation Board since 2015.

Amanda Nelson, School Board Member

Amanda Nelson

School Board Member

Amanda Nelson started teaching in 1998 at COES, then went to UES when it opened. Amanda taught VPK, Kindergarten and First Grade. Amanda was elected to the Hendry County School Board in 2016, and at that time also joined the Hendry-LaBelle Recreation Board.